Ellsworth, Scoggin Win Drag Race Titles


by Michael Giacone


Samoa – Dennis Ellsworth, Jr. took home his first victory in Super Pro as he captured the title in the 25th Competition Eliminator.  Other winners at the event were Mike Scoggin, Troy Beck, Jackie Allen and Joe Pettit.


Ellsworth drove his dragster to a dead on time of 8.51 at 151 miles per hour to claim the victory in the 16-car qualified field.  His final round opponent was Brad Seher behind the wheel of his 1971 Triumph Spitfire.  Rick Ellsworth and Kyle Skillings were the semifinalists.


Scoggin outlasted a strong Pro bracket field to garner first place honors.  He piloted his 1946 Chevy pickup to a time of 11.43 at 110 mph to defeat Scott Hodge and his 1965 Nova.  Point leader Jerry Toledo was the third place finisher. 


Beck won the Quick Street class with his 1969 GTO by turning a quarter-mile time of 12.63 at 104 mph.  Joe Scheel was runner-up in his 1973 Duster.  Jeff Barth and Rolland Dickey were the semifinal round losers. 


The Street title was won by Jackie Allen in his 2004 Ford Focus.  He ran an elapsed time of 17.25 at 78 mph to hold off Brian Stone’s 1967 Firebird.  John Terry and Sandy Blakely were the third place drivers.


Pettit won the Junior Dragster title by running a time of 8.52 in the eighth mile.  Adam Smith finished second while Mike Pettit and Tyler Hutton were the semifinalists.  Robbie Waddell won the Consolation title in the Junior class. 


The next event will be held on June 19 and 20.  The Super Eliminator XXIX, the most important race of the year will be held on Sunday.  Special NHRA awards will be given to the winners of the top four classes.