Tucker, Antongiovanni Win Major Race Titles


by Michael Giacone


Samoa – Scott won the Challenge Cup and John Antongiovanni captured the King of the Track Wally award at the annual Samoa Challenge Cup race.


Tucker, who qualified as an alternate, drove his 1968 Barracuda to a time of 11.39 at 112 mph to claim the title.  Ray Rapp finished second in his 1971 Vega.  The semifinalists were Dale Waddell and Harlan Tucker.  The Challenge Cup bracket is composed of major event winners and point champions over the past season and a half.  Other qualifiers were Troy Beck, Ana Toledo, Rick Ellsworth and Dennis Ellsworth, Jr.


Antongiovanni won the Wally by besting the winners of the other regular brackets in the King of the Track race.  He ran 12.44 at 104 mph in his 1965 Nova to defeat a redlighting Joe Scheel driving his 1971 Duster.  Ron Gulbransen and John Terry were the other class winners.


Scheel won the Super Pro class with a time of 10.79 at 121 mph by beating the dragster of Dennis Ellsworth, Jr.  Letitia Hill and Rick Ellsworth were the third place finishers.


Antongiovanni won the Pro bracket with a time of 12.78 at 103 mph.  He beat Scott Hodge’s 1965 Nova in the final.  Scott and Harlan Tucker were both defeated in the semifinals.


Ron Gulbransen piloted his 1968 Mustang to the Quick Street title by running 14.22 at 95 mph.  Jason Henderson finished second in his 1966 Mustang while Nick Purcell garnered third place.


John Terry won the Street class by turning a time of 16.74 at 79 mph in his 1970 Nova.  Rina Ellsworth was second best in her 1994 Cadillac while Glen Terry, John’s father, finished in third place.


Robbie Waddell won the Junior Dragster bracket with a time of 11.20.  Tyler Hutton was runner-up and the semifinalists were Tim Ellsworth and Adam Smith.  Mike Pettit won the Consolation award with a time of 9.34 defeating his sister, Kara, in the final.


The motorcycle class was won by James Surber on his 1992 Harley with a time of 9.33 at 119 mph.  Wayne Cox was second on his 1986 Suzuki.  John Widmann and Ken Vossen were the semifinalists.


The next drag race will be the Top Eliminator race on August 29.